Find out all the details at the EPA's Surf Your Watershed site.

Find out about the NJ Department of Environmental Protection's Watershed Management Program.

The Musconetcong River wateshed includes portions of Hunterdon, Morris, Warren, and Sussex counties, and all or portions of twenty-five municipalities. The Musconetcong River watershed is the 157.6 square mile area of land that drains to the Musconetcong River. It includes Lake Hopatcong and several smaller lakes that drain to the Musconetcong River. The largest tributary stream to the Musconetcong River is Lubbers Run. Dozens of other small tributary streams also drain to the Musconetcong River.

The 44-mile long Musconetcong River flows past state parks, forests, towns and historic villages, vital industries, and one of New Jersey's most scenic agricultural valleys. The Musconetcong joins the Delaware River in Rieglesville.

Musconetcong River Watershed Municipalities

Hunterdon County (6)
Alexandria Township
Bethlehem Township
Bloomsbury Borough
Hampton Borough
Holland Township
Lebanon Township

Morris County (6)
Jefferson Township
Mount Arlington Borough
Mout Olive Borough
Netcong Borough
Roxbury Township
Washington Township

Sussex County (5)
Byram Township
Green Township
Hopatcong Borough
Sparta Township
Stanhope Borough

Warren County (9)
Allamuchy Township
Franklin Township
Greenwich Township
Hackettstown Township
Independence Township
Mansfield Township
Pohatcong Township
Washington Borough
Washington Township

Board Member Login:

  • Musconetcong Watershed Association
  • 10 Maple Ave. PO Box 113
  • Asbury, NJ 08802
  • 908-537-7060